Scandals-whether in politics, academia, or other area-can be useful. They focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could."
The statement claims that scandals in politics and academia are important and useful which i partially agree with as on revelations of
scandals the truth about the malicious content in the organization is highlighted and further actions can taken on those who try to
confuse people about the working of the structure while the above statement is certainly harmful to the organization or reputation of the
body and can create chaos in public order.
Firstly, The scandals when disclosed helps in seeking attention of people as people can now clearly see the usage of funds and resources
by the higher authorities. when taking into account political scandals of various political parties which involves money laundering. And
favours done by official at higher position. A recent scandal of money laundering came from Pakistan prime minister who was involved in
land deals which caused controversy and finally resignation from the post of prime minister because of the outburst it gain attention from
various classes of society and finally the huge rebellion against the prime minister.
Secondly, In academics A chancellor was expelled from a well-known university because of misusing funds provided to him for construction of
soccer field in which he got a cut from the developer and was caught in the deal. but does the news serve an useful purpose . it does more harm than
favours. In catching the culprit the reputation of the university was came down. further charges where placed on the university for misusing and eventually
it had deleterious effects on the academics of students.
Thirdly,The statement also correctly identifies combining of people for a common cause. In recent lights of facebook's selling its users data into
cambridge analytica found so much media attention which many speakers and technical giants where already warning. but due to disclosure it grab most attention
which no one could grab or bring to light. because of only scandals facebook has decided to bring new amendments and implementations in use. Thus scandals serves
as a benefit in finding flaws of structure and encouraging new structure.
The claim that the statement makes about speaker and reformer has loopholes in it. many reformers obtained the attention masses of people with
their persuasive skills and orator skill. Martin Luther King was such person who bound the entire nation without concentrating on any scandals.
he coherented various people from all background for his fight. Another example is Mahatma Gandhi, he fought for independence of India while bringing
in millions of people for his fight against Britishers. such persons makes sure scandals are not necessary to bring in public interest.
In conclusion we can say that scandals have quite a few benefits and some harmful effects on the organization as well but the disclosure that scandal brings
ultimately helps in the long run and is most of the time useful to public. They eventually help in bringing people close than speaker or reformer could.