There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.
The issue states that it is absurd to invest in saving or protecting endangered species by utilizing valuable resources in bid to protect
or help species grow. The statement is unjustified. As efforts though few times useless many a times gives required or favourable outcomes.
investing done is generally fruitful if directed in correct direction and properly implemented. And even though if there is low hopes the society
should have full faith in it.
The protection of rhino in indonesia which began in 1974 have now started to show result after 20 years of work done by locals in collabartion
with the government to save the endangered species at the start people did not believe in getting results. people thought that the implementation
of such programs would ultimately result in waste of valuable resources which could be used otherwise. This exemplifies that even though
the result are not reflected the government should be continously work for it.
Similarly, The protection of lions which took place in 90's in south africa when hunting of lions by poachers was at peak resulted in
plummet of population of lions in the reserve. then, the government implemented certain rules to further decrease the loss of species. because
of which the popluation started to stabilize and now its is gradually increasing. now, The wildlife of south africa is booming. And the resulting income from it is major
part of countries economy.
Also, even though the effort are futile, people are obligied to invest in such activities because humans are the primary cause of such effects thus
humans are the major culprits of such problems.it is the moral duties of humans to correct their wrongs even though it does not provide desirable outcomes
Although, generally it is better to make judicious decision rather than based on pure emotion. when there is irreversible damage done to species
it is useless to further invest in such project when it does not provide fertile outcomes. In Australia similar situtaion occured when the population
of rats increased rapidly which were foreign species began to harm or destroy the native species which result in destruction of indigenious species
even though the government had tried to make efforts which were ultimately futile. government refrained from investing in it because the damage
cannot be reversed to original state.
Thus if there even the slightest of chances of survival of reverting back the damage done by human activities the government or other should
put all the efforts to control the further losses and then after damage control should to worry about proliferation of the species.
But will protecting the species government should not take decision based on pure emotions rather look into all possible solutions and
trade off of investing in such a programes.