scientist and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

societies in the world today, have several problems or challenges that they are confronted with. In an event where knowledge is limited on an issue, scientist and researchers are called upon to find solutions to the problems that society faces. scientists and other researchers are expected by nations to find solutions to the problems that could pose a threat to human race and therefore, every attempt is made to focus research on areas that could benefit the greatest number of people. However, i mostly disagree for two reasons.

First, each individual, community or nation has its own perculiar needs and challenges. Is the author claiming that all individuals in a community or a country face the same problems or challenges? Research does not only seek to solve challenges that only affect only the majority, but also individuals in the society. To illustrate, Saudi, Arabia has its own challenges with the practice of democracy. Should researchers in the area of governance stop researching on the reasons why democracy is failing in that country? In cases where the cost of the cost or the financial burden of the research is prohibitive, nations must find such financial resources. This is because very live is important.

In addition, focusing research on issues of the minority in the society is tantamount to safeguarding or protecting the greatest number of people in the community or nation. For example the outbreak of pandemic starts with individuals or small group of people within the community. Ignoring research on such instances would not protect the majority of the people.

Admittedly, focusing research on issues that affect the majority of the people in some cases is crucial for the sustenance of the human race is very crucial, the protection of the minority is equally paramount.