Scientists and other Researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

I agree with above assertion that scientists and researchers should research more in the field which benefits the public. Researchers should prioritize their research based on the needs of public and society. My opinions lie in agreement with the assertion because of the parameters.

Firstly, the world as it is right now is facing various problems such as climate change, global warming and many more. Researchers ought to focus more on such issues instead of other researches as they are more important and pose a threat against the world. Problems such as Global warming threaten lives on earth and should be prioritized by researchers as an area to focus their research on instead.

Secondly, there are limited resources present on the earth and their dissolution rate is increasing daily. Hence it would be sensible to use for the scientists to use these resources judiciously and in the needs of public.

Also, as war can break out suddenly in different countries, it is important for various scientific organizations to focus their research more on equipment that are helpful in both defense and attack.

Thirdly, all these scientific organizations are funded by the various governments of different countries and there are many other problems that the world is facing, like poverty, illiteracy and many more. And as the government is funding these organizations, it is the role of the researchers to work in areas that avail the greatest number of people.

Though there is a negative aspect to this assertion, which is that in an ideal society, researchers must be focus on areas in which they are more interested in and in which they are dexterous as they would be able to make extensive use of their knowledge and skills. Also it is not ethically correct to cajole someone to do a particular research. It is one’s own right to choose whatever field or work they want to do.

In the end, I conclude that even though it is not ethical to coerce researchers to work in a particular field, looking at the circumstances that the world is in right now, scientists still should research in the areas which are for the betterment of the public.