Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The development of humanity has been tantamount to the development of science. From ancient Greek to now, there have been many pioneers and perspicacious scientists who contributed to a plethora of fields in science. However, due to the fact that there are a myriad of problems that we need to solve in this modern society, some people argue that scientists and other researchers need to focus their research that can benefit the greatest number of people. However, this is unsound because every human has same rights, and they also need to take advantage of science. Also, to be more concise, we cannot require scientists to work on certain issues in that the purpose of science is not to solve problems in our daily life.

Granted, if there is an urgent issue that threaten most people in the world, scientists can focus their research on those issues. To illustrate, Ebola was a huge issue last year in that inconceivable number of people were killed with this pandemic, and more people felt threatened. Since the virus was extremely serious, many pharmacists and biologists scrutinized this virus and went the extra mile to find a vaccine or remedies. In this case, no one can deny the necessity of research on this issue because this can threaten and harm the humanity.

Nevertheless, in general, there should be no priority in the problems. Since every person on the earth has same rights, every person should not be ignored to take advantage of the humanity’s achievement. If some people are stolen their rights to attain remedies for their problem just because they are not in majority, the world will be biased.

Moreover, regardless of other factors that are mentioned above, scientists should not be required to work on certain issues because the intrinsic purpose of science is to satisfy our curiosity on our universe and ourselves. In this line of thought, scientists can work on theoretical and idealistic issues such as high-level mathematics or cosmology even if the humanity cannot get any advantages from the research. Also, not only for the essence of science, but also for the advance of our daily life, we should let scientists to focus on their own curiosity and penchants. What I mean is that those fundamental theories and observations will be role as basics for the further development. For instance, Newton’s laws were just about sheer physics at first, however, there must be no development in the fields of transportation unless Newton found out the laws. Also, ancient philosophers’ prime number is now used in many fields such as Computer Science.

In brief, for many reasons, we need to let scientists to work on what they have interest unless there is an urgent problem in the whole world. Science is to satisfy our curiosity and lay the foundation of knowledge for the future. Therefore, the number of people that can take advantage of the research should not affect the will of scientists and researchers.