Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the society should discover the children with special talents and provide a special training for them since their youngest age. On the one hand, it is difficult for the society to recognize every talented child On the other hand, for talented children it is necessary to cultivate their special talents from their youngest age if they have a goal to become professionals in their fields. While sound arguments can be made for both perspectives, a careful analysis reveals that there is a number of compelling reasons to agree with the statement that society should discover the children with special talent and provide a special education for them. The paragraphs below discuss the reasoning for this position and consider its implications.

First and foremost, children with special talents are rare. Thus, it is very important to discover them in the earliest age and cultivate their talents as they represent a possibility for producing great future professionals. To illustrate, let’s us look at the example of music professionals. It is well known that the formation of professional musicians is difficult and lifelong process. Therefore, it is pivotal to discover the music talents of the children in the earliest possible time. Furthermore, the reason for this is also the fact that the body of the musicians has to be trained in the special way since the earliest age. There are examples of the countries where musical education is taken very seriously and where many professional musicians come from. Consider former Yugoslavian countries and Russia where exists primary music school where the children who are special music talents study in parallel with the regular primary school. However, after the primary school, there is a secondary music school for those who want to continue with the music education and become professional musicians, while those who make the decision to become professionals in different fields, can enroll in a different secondary school. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that it is crucial for special talents like music talents to be discovered in the earliest age for those students who want to become professional musicians.

Further, there are some professions which require talents represented by the special physical ability. In other words, these are mainly sport talents. Due to the characteristics of body development, it is necessary for sports talents to provide special training since their youngest age. If they start to train later, they will never be able to become professionals in their sports, but they will have to accept the fact that those sports are the only recreation for them. Further, similar to musicians, sports talents also might decide to pursue different careers than sport. However, it is a responsibility of society to offer an opportunity for these people to choose what they want to choose as their profession.

Further, it is true that not all children who have special talents will decide to use their talents on the professional level. Indeed, many of them might decide to choose different careers. For them, it would not be important to have special training. Furthermore, not all children show their talents at the earliest age. Many of them are shy and introvert. Thus, it is difficult to see if they have, and what kind of talent they have. Due to the great number of students in the schools, the teachers very often cannot recognize those children. In these situations, the parents are those who should discover what talents have their children.

In conclusion, while there are arguments to be made for both sides of the debate, it is clear that some professions like music and sports require special talents of future professionals. Therefore, it is pivotal for these special talents to be identified in childhood and treated in a special way. Hence, as shown above, only through special professional training and education, it is possible to produce future professionals in these fields.