Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership positions in government, industry demand diverse skill set in an invdividual, starting from being competent in technical matters to being a good team player. An important part of the role is to manage a team, and thus sense of cooperation in team is very important. Although extreme competitive attitude with a solo performing attitude is not good, healthy competitive spirit is desired alongwith a team spirit.

Any industry or government leadership position is not about doing one's own job without any cooperation, but is more about managing people and dividing the job and getting it done. These kind of roles inherently need people with good people skills, people who can interact well and get the cooperation of other people and build a strong team to tackle a job. The saying 'Team work makes the dream work' is true for such and applies to such kind of roles. If a person is very competitive and very competent in technical matters, but does not have a team spirit and a sense of cooperation, then he will certainly fail miserably as a leader. So, if an attitude of cooperation is not instiiled into the youth from early on, they will have difficulties being a leader in their lives.

This being said, we cannot underestimate role of competition that one has to face in leadership roles. Competition cannot be avoided in any kind of leadership roles, be it as a political leader or minister, or as a CXO of any company. If the youth is not prepared for such kinds of competition from an early stage in life, they will not be equipped with the appropriate mindset to tackle and emerge successful from such cut-throat competition. For a company, if the CEO is not able to anticipate the effect of its competitors in their business, he may end up taking bad decisions, and the growth of the company may suffer. If the CEO cannot handle stress resulting from the cut-throat competition, he will not be able to keep his calm and make rational decisions at an important moment. So, a competitive attitude, and a competent skill set is essential for a leader.

Thus, competition as well as cooperation are both important for a leader, and absence of any one of them will affect the quality of the person as a leader, and so society should prepare the youth with both of these qualities.