Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

When it comes to the issue the main feature for a leader, some people believe that he should be highly competitive. However, others have the opposite view and think that a leader should have the ability to cooperate with others. As far as I am concerned the last point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

First and the most important reason is that a leader cannot consider all of the aspects of the issue, which he wants to decide about it, while they have much knowledge. In fact, cooperation allows the leader to have others idea, which helps them to take a better decision. I think that a small example can give some light to this matter. It is quite common that a programmer puts a part of the application for getting feedback from users. Indeed, he never can create the application without any mistake, and also refrain this mistake is costly and time-consuming. Nevertheless, users’ feedback let him improve their application easily.

A further point we must consider is that cooperation assists the leader to do many things in short time. It is quite normal that if we trust on others and lets them do part of a project, we can accomplish it in the less time. In addition, cooperation gives the sense of being useful to employees, so they try to increase productivity and quality. In this way, a great leader can not overlook of this effective factor, which is important in the competition-rich environment.

In contrast, the sense of competition stimulates the leader to focus more on his mistakes and try to eliminate them. Moreover, he has more enthusiasm to embrace challenges and cope with the diversity of situations. Overall, he makes more efforts for being success, and for achieve this never be give up, which is essential for a leader. Of course, the leader should notice for being the success in competition he cannot do any things, which can be immoral.

All above evidence supports this fact that cooperation decreases mistakes and the project time. Admittedly, competition can have some advantages such as make more attempts for being success, while I strongly believe that profits in cooperation are more than that of in competition.