The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing."During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than

The author of this argument claims that for decreasing the amounts of accidents during work time, the factories should decrease one hour in any shifts. To support this recommendation the author cites the following facts that on-the-job accidents are less in Panoply Industries where the work shifts are one hour short. He also cites other evidence that this plan allows workers to get more time for sleep, which experts believe that is the main cause of these accidents. Close scrutiny of each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible support to the recommendation.

The argument fails to provide any justification that two factory similar terms of terms of respective population. For one, it may Panoply Industries is better equipped by modern technology, which decrease the amount of human mistakes. This important difference could explain the success of this factory. More significantly, Panoply Industries may pay attention for training their employees and increasing their performance. In this way, the argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the similarity in these factories.

Moreover, the argument overlooks the strong possibility that in-the-job accidents are not the only factor affecting how much employees get sleep. Other such factors might include experience for working with equipment and the how much factory spend time for training workers and warn about possible dangerous of careless. Thus regardless of decreasing the amount of work time the amount of accident during work nevertheless will be stable or even increase.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it the author must either provide more evidence about causes of in-the-job accident, or to better assess the accuracy of decreasing one hour in each sifts, it would be useful to know in what areas our factory is similar with Panoply Industries.