Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In order to succeed in this world, you must be able to "take out" the competition. Being competitive is an asset to leaders because it helps them push boundaries to propel their businesses forward. Without it, companies and politics would become stagnant and dull, never changing in an ever evovling world.

For example, politics is essentially a competition; we even call it a race. Being competitive in politics helps leaders to get the positions of power that they need to be successful. When running for president, for example, a level of competition must be involved in the debates and campiang strategies as it is important to know who you are competiting with. Being competitive would also help the candidate have the aptitude necessary to succeed in a field with frequent turnover.

Additionally, when the stakes are high in any company, there is automatically a competitive edge to business; everyone is afraid the competitors will be more successful. In order to be truly successful in a field such as artificial intelligence, leaders of companies must be able to help their companies compete with other tech companies. If a leader is inclined towards competition in his or her every day life, this will transition well into the business and consequently help the business succeed.

In certain fields, it also helps to be competetive to start out. With a lack of positions available to new graduates, people have to be more competitive than ever in order to begin working in a field. Having a competitive personality when applying to a job in sales, for example, would be essential in allowing you to succeed. Without that personality trait, the candidate would not be inclined to fight for his or her own job, nor would the candidate be able to progress up the corporate ladder.

Furthermore, in order to progress in a company, government, or industry, one must be willing to do what it takes to stand out. Studies have shown that individuals with competitive personalities do better in high stress situations where they must "prove themselves" to their superiors. This would be essential to the success of anyone, as it would allow them to perform well enough to help them get promoted within their field. In other words, in order for someone to even become a successful leader they must be competitive.

On the other hand, without cooperation, the leader is at risk of their inferiors resenting them. This may become a problem in fields where a "successful leader" is not the only one with power. For example, in law firms it is not unusual for the managing partner(s) to have equity partners, and for each of them to take a vote on certain issues within the firm. If the managing partner does not cooperate with what the rest of the partners' interests are, he or she is at risk of being outvoted. This would decrease the success of the managing partner, showing how damaging it can be to ignore the needs of everyone else.

However, this example still demonstrates how competitive leaders might be more successful, as it insinuates that a leader must be aware of his or her actions and how they affect the overall success of the firm in order to succeed. This awareness would be well complemented by a competitive spirit as it demonstrates that sometimes competition is more of a team sport, and the opinions of others matter to the overall success of the team.

In conclusion, without competitive leaders, businesses and governments would not be capable of succeeding. It is necessary for individuals to have a level of competition in their lives in order to become successful leaders because it helps them progress their own careers and agendas. It is also important to note that competition does not always equate a solo sport, but can also refer to a sense of team competition, allowing leaders to be successful and competitive while also cooperating with others. There may be a balance between competition and cooperation, but competition is at the heart of successful leaders and businesses.