Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Is education's sole purpose to provide a degree that will earn you a good job and eventually a respectful life , or is it more for the sake of learning itself and exploring what truly intrigues you? This significant question is asked by millions of young adults entering the college world every year , wondering what major best suits them, and what area of study will best aid them in their quest to acheiveing their dreams. In my opinion, given the increasingly high costs of learning , it's best to compromise between these two differnt view points , choosing a major that will eventually result in an abundant career, while maintaining a constant tenancity with subjects you love and truly enjoy.

A major reason for this opinion is obviously the high costs of education. For the typical four years as an undergrade, students will be looking at spending the sum of around 20 thousands to 100 thousands dollars, most of which may be in dept form with interest rates that increase yearly. Thus, being able to pay up this dept as soon as possible, is critical to a young adult that may be faced with other financial needs that burden him. And so majoring in an area such as business or computer technology , with a somewhat wide job market will be crucial in influencing a young man or woman's decision.

One might argue that studying for money is a superficial way to predicate your selection . That it strips education from its true meaning , and that if you study what you love regardless of the financial aspect , ineveitablly it will prosper in your happiness and contempt , and eventually though it may take some patience ,the financial revenue will be worth it. It's true doing what you love sounds appalling , but in actuality I beleive that the economic stress and financial troubles, that would accompany it ,may overshadow this optimistic potrait. So I find that a good way to compromise is taking coursework that truly meet your aspirations and fulfil your interests,while focusing on studies that will profit in the near future. Universities have noted a significant increase in art classes and music classes taken by bussiness majors and even by some medical students. This approach along with it's profuse effect on the students happiness and satisfaction, offers a rich base for creativity and intuitive thinking , that will naturally have positive effects on these students' major area of focus, resulting in higher grades and increased productivity.

In a world with increasingly demanding economic and pecuniary needs, it's crucial to prioritize ones values. It really isn't a choice between living a poor life doing what you love, or living a wealthy life doing something you hate. It's more of finding a common ground , earninng yourself a respectful career while maintaining your interests and hobbies and ultimately trying to enjoy your life to the atmost potential.