Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field Writ

Education has been one of the most important aspects of the modern life. New generations are able to expand their knowledge with the help of well structured education. Since improving skills and making contribution is closely related with the ambition of the individual, I mostly agree with the idea that the students should be able to choose field of study by considering their interests and strengths instead of job availability of the field. I will explain the argument in the following essay.

There is an argument which positions itself on the opposite side. Some of the people who are interested in education states that the students should consider the job availability instead of interests. This argument is based on the assumption which states that the students are most of the time immature. In other words, they are not able to decide their future interests because of undeveloped personality. Furthermore, the interests of the students are not consistent. Since the understanding of the life may change, they shouldn’t rely on their current interests.

In contrast to the opposing argument, students should consider subjects that they are tend to work on while they are deciding about field of study since the desire of learning would lead to students to be more successful than just working by considering future job availability. As a result, students would be able to work on the field with the help of success. Although the job market doesn’t include a job related to that field of study, a passionate student would be able to create a room for himself because of ambition. For instance, when the student of Edison was working on light bulbs with the guide of Edison, there weren’t any job related to electrical science. However, thanks to their decisiveness, they produced a light bulb and they sold it to the market. We enlighten our environment by using the principles that they have formed. One can see that the passion is one of the most important factors which helps the students to be able to reach their goals.

Secondly, although the opposing argument states that the students are not able to understand their future interests, they are able to understand their strengths which are formed at early stages of life, and they are able to decide their interests that will not change frequently. A person makes decision about interests by considering her strenghts. As a result, if the students is able to reach required guide that helps them to explore their abilities, they are able to choose their interests that will sustain for all of their lives. For example, if a student can observe that she is not a talented student about drawing but she is capable of writing, she would form her interests related to the writing. Therefore, she would be able to work on the writing although there aren’t enough job possibility about writing.

In conclusion, the idea of making decision about considering possible job availability is flawed. A student should consider interests and strenghts because they are stable and they lead the student to be more successful.