Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Writ

In today's highly competitive environment, it is very crucial as well as complicated and confusing, for youngsters, to choose their field of career to have a successful and bright future. The topic presented here diligently emphasizes on one of the major decisions today's youth has to make. In my opinion, a student should be focussed on his/her own talents as well as have a pragmatic view of the current job scenario, so that he will not be disappointed if he realizes a harsh reality later on.

The realization of self talents and interests plays a major role in a student's life, not only professionally but also personally. The student should realize if he has any particular interests or affinity toward any subject. However, not many students have a clear vision of their career in the long run. In fact, when passed out through the primary education, in an adolescent age, due to lack of maturity, students really don't know in ehich field they should proceed. The role of parents is very crucial at this stage, as parents are the first teachers and mentors of their children. Parents should consider both the student's likings as well as his mental aptitude in guiding him toward any field of career.

As we look on the current job scenario worldwide, unemployment is one of the major critical problems in front of the nations. So, considering which field has good opportunities in terms of jobs as well as future growth, students should not be restricted in choosing only a particular or conventional subjects, but should dive into much deeper and explore new fields and develop the thoughts accordingly. This is key to success in this modern era of competitiveness.