Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There are a number of parameters that college students take into consideration while deciding their field of study. This process can often be time-consuming and stressful, as the student wishes to undertake a holistic evaluation in determining the best choice for himself/herself. The prompt introduces two such considerations, which are deemed to be important for college students to consider when choosing their field of study. I agree with the opinion that students should consider their own talent and interests when making the decision, rather than making a choice dependent upon the jobs present in that area. I would elucidate my position using two main arguments.

Firstly, the job market is very volatile, a field which may look very attractive today, due to the plethora of jobs available in it, may present a completely opposite picture five years down the line, or vice versa. For instance, in the 1970s and 1980s a number of countries were experimenting with nuclear energy as a source of power. In such a time period, nuclear engineering became a very attractive field of study that student were undertaking, irrespective of their interest in it, due to the large number of jobs that were available in that field. However ten years later in the 1990s when the unfortunate Fukushima Accident took place, a number of nuclear agencies shut down, and all of a sudden, nuclear study was not an occupation up for grabs. This example helps us understand, exactly how dynamic the job market is, and why important decisions such as the field of one’s study should not be based on it. Instead one’s interest and talents should take up the more important role, as those qualities would push you to find a career path for yourself.

Secondly, even if we assume that the job market is rather static, still it is very important for a person to take into consideration ones interests and talents, while choosing their field of study. Lets take up a situation where a person takes up chemical engineering in school, due to the plethora of jobs that are available in that field, instead of taking up applied art where their talent as well as interest lies. In such a scenario, even though the person would be able to get a secure job and livelihood, they will not be happy at it. An alternate thought of having taken up applied art, will always be lurking at the back of their mind, which would result in a constant feeling of regret within them. Furthermore, since neither their talent nor interest lies in this particular field they will not be able to give their all to the job, and perform at their full potential. This would result in them reaching a point of stagnancy, from where they would not be able to move ahead. So while, they have a safe space in the form of a job for themselves they are clearly not happy with it and are not performing too well at it either. Such a situation deems the decision of taking up a field of study based on job option completely redundant, in the long term scenario, where ones happiness and potential at work plays a very important role.

While a large section of people may disagree with me, and raise thoughts like of how in today’s globalized world it is very important to not take risks in terms of employment and livelihood and only choose the field of study where job security is present. However I disagree with this argument on the simple ground of how, in today’s world, which is so highly globalized, there are avenues for jobs in almost all fields now as long as the student has the talent and interest for it. Which is why students should take up greater independence in choosing the field of study that intrigues them.