Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Regarding students and their performances, there are two conflicting views. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that competition for receiving good grades encourage students to perform well in the class. Others, on the other hand, take a radically different view and allege that this competition could restrict students' learning. In what follow, first the justification of each side is delineated, later on, my personal perspective, having been inspired by the rationale of each side is explicated.

To commence with, attend school or university and reach a higher education is the most important life goal for every mature human being and they bend over backward and make their efforts so as to reach their goals. Broadly speaking, a performance of students not only can play a key role in their success but also can help them in their future lives. In fact, students have to compete with others in order to be the best and reach the pinnacle of their education. As a vivid example, students should fight and study hard to gain enough information and as a result, receive great scores, this behavior not only can foster a sense of competition but also can teach students how to do their best in order to be successful. To elucidate more on this issue, competition for high grades provides an opportunity for students to be successful both in their professional and personal lives and helps them decide their path.

On the other hand, some students may not be able to compete for receiving good grades and this will cause stress which inhibits learning deeply and wisely. If we take a minute to ponder over it, although competition provides fertile ground for students to be encouraged to perform well in the class, it might have deleterious effects on the performance of students in the long run. For instance, vast majorities of students prefer to be knowledgeable and gain more information day in day out rather than compete for good scores. So, in this case, they will be more likely to make a conspicuous progress and experience less stress than other students who fight for grades and try to be the best in the class. Going into the depth, compete for grades might not guarantee the future of students and not only can prevent students from learning effectively but also can impose stress.

Personally, I lodge myself somewhere between these two views. Receive good grades is an inseparable part of education and students have to try and compete for high scores in order to be successful in their personal lives. Actually, they should try to perform in a way that this competition does not limit their learning. If they just concentrate on competition and reach good scores, they will not be able to make a progress day in day out. As a matter of fact, this competition might create a gap between their grades and learning because they allocated most of their times to compete for good grades. In my opinion, students should strike a balance and compete in a way that their learning improves dramatically and helps them to be a self-sufficient and knowledgeable person in near future.