Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well- being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Role of the corporations in the society has always been a controversial topic. One side believes that the corporations should take the responibility of the good of society and environment. While, the other side argues that if the coporate is operating within the law, then its only motto should be to make as much money as possible. My belief is that corporations affect the lives of many directly or indirectly. So it is their moral duty to advocate for well-being of the society as well as environment. The following two paragraphs elucidates why I belive so.

As mentioned earlier, coprorations have a considerable impact in the people and the surroundings, indirectly if not patent. This implies that every action or decision taken by the coporate affects the society. For example, Google, which is the go-to search engine for 90 percent of population in the world. If Google's only aim is to make as much money as possible, then they might increase the amount of ads and data mining information from the users, which is under the law as the users complied for the services. This increased data mining on users severly hits the online privacy of the users. Hence, the society is deprived of basic privacy by the desire of the company to make abundance. So, company should take the responsibility of making moral decisions and should keep in mind the well-being of the people at every point of their decisions.

Additionaly, if coporations thinks only of hoarding money, then they might exploit the customers with weak services or products. For example, Apple which is known for its creativity and after sale services, recenlty launched its new prodcut which has lead to inflation in the phone market. Moreover, the recent launch also lacks the premium features which are available with other cheaper phones. Hence, company is exploiting its customers who are not so tech savvy. Thus, if the only aim of the company is gaining money, it always leads to exploitation of its customers and degradation of its products.

One might argue that corporations formed for making profits should not bother about the society. But, since the coporations provides services or products or whatever the business might be, it involved society in some way. Hence, the belief that the coporations are all about money and pecuniary is qualifying their impact on the society.