Some people believe that corporations a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environment in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of the corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The argument stated are divided into two parts – the first part describe the groups that believe the organization and large corporation should run by undertaking social and ecological accountability and responsibility, on the other hand the second part talks about the people who supports the only responsibility of organizations is to operate legally to make money that would strengthen the economy. Though I could agree with the first part, most of the time, but also believe that leaving the environmental and social well-being factors all in the hands of organizations themselves won't be helpful enough.

As the first part stresses that an organization and companies should operate in a way that will not hinder environment and social lives, I could not agree more with the statement. From a personal observational vantage point, I could say that how an organizational accident(s) could produce deadly consequences and catastrophic results to thousands of its employees and furthermore to their families. For instance, we can take the India’s most infamous “Bhopal gas tragedy” incident of 20th century. How a deadly gas leakage from an industry, in the Bhopal, was the cause of mass death. Thousands of people died in their sleep, since the accident happened after midnight so hardly anyone could know or/and could take any actions against it. Moreover, the gas was so deadly that just 3 intake of it could result in death. Very few survivors still faces mental anxiety while recalling about the incident and to say the least about the loss of lives of dear ones and neighbors are irreparable. In such cases organizational authority is in complete fault and should take responsibility and furthermore, they should compensate to the victims. If the industry would have conducted the thorough and regular maintenance of their gas purifiers, equipment or gadgets, these unfortunate incident could have be avoided.

The other aspect of this is that we could not just simply leave everything up-to the hands of these organizations, whose main motto are just simply to earn profits and expanding their businesses. The public groups involvements or governmental supervision and regulation is essential in this area. These rules and regulation will help to scrutinize the malpractices of the organizations and the proper law would help them to keep in check and held them accountable if of any unfortunate happening and help victims to redeem proper compensations.

To sum up, I would agree the organization agreement and involvement to work in positive manner which would be beneficial for environment and society but still the external reinforcement of governmental law and regulations and public group’s supervision is also essentially required.