People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement aptly stating that any decisions that based as an emotional reaction or response to any event/situation/incident could never be the sane decision. Human are intellectual beings and emotion consists of major part of our cognitive system and, help us to make good or bad decisions in our daily life. However, we can all admit that decisions is apt when the process involves both emotion and rational thinking.

Let us take an example of a teacher and student. Suppose there is a mischievous and nonchalant student in the class, who is always misbehaving and perturbing the decorum of the class. Despite of teacher's multiple warning, the student remains same and therefore, incorrigible. Then the teacher decides to give extreme punishment to the student (make be like expelling or suspending him), so that he could set an indelible example to other students, about the consequences of such misbehaviour. The later part shows explains teacher's action, is not fair. As a teacher whose job is not just to check the decorum of class or being pedantic, but to help in the moral and intellectual development of EACH and EVERY student, by implementing various tools and technique.

Similarly, when parents deal with their fervid kids and want to inculcate discipline on them, they could be extremely harsh to them sometimes. To learn disciple is necessary for a child but parents should keep in their minds that every child is different and therefore, the teaching technique should be unique to each of them. Simply expecting too much from their kids and punishing them if they don't see desirable result(s) is an act based on emotional decision. It shows how emotions could turbid our rational mind and we could take certain decisions based on it, which would be regretful to even us later.

Giving an explanation to justify our actions based on emotional factor could be just a psychological defence system that we develop to protect ourselves from any self-regret. We tend to justify our every decision and act so it could be less embarrassing for us. But our inner concise knows that actions or reactions based on emotions could never be hundred per cent accurate. Therefore, a proper amalgamation of rational and emotional thinking is required to form any good decision.