An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The Government's decisions that it would whole-heartedly promote the new breed of millet, high in vitamin A in their country Tagus, where people are combating with its deficiency is based on various assumptions. There are three major loopholes here that the government need to consider upon before arriving on the decision of taking such action.

To start with, here, in the statement, government of Tagus has assumed that since millet is the staple food of the country therefore, people will readily accept the new type. However, the things that to be questioned whether the newly produced type of millet would produce the similar and familiar taste that of their regular millet? If not? Are the people of Tagus adaptable enough to except such changes? Generally people of an area who are habitual of certain taste would develop similar taste bud and liking and therefore, would not be able to adapt to changes in their food types so easily.

The above argument would bring us to our next point and it is, that government are deciding to give farmers subsidies to cultivate this new type of millet. However, if people would not be like the taste of new millet they would not buy it after the first time, and hence it could not yield much profit for the framers, which ultimately will bring financial loss to the already poor country. Therefore, the government should consider this factor and think how just and intelligent it is to invest in this new breed.

The reason for investing on this new type of millet will lead us to our next point that is - government should research first the actual cause of Vitamin A deficiency among citizens. How government could be sure that the old breed of millet was not rich enough in Vitamin A and hence causing deficiency of the vitamin among people? There is possibility that people are deficient in other nutrition that the body need to absorb and retain vitamin A from incoming food to our body. In this case, blaming regular breed for the deficiency is wrong. If this would be true, then the government could avoid a potential financial lose by investing in the expensive process of cultivating new millet type.

To recapitulate, there are series of areas (as discussed in above there paragraphs) that the government of Tagus need to research profoundly upon before starting investing in the developing, farming, marketing and selling process of the new expensive type of millet in their country.