Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Throughout human history, the arts played a fundamental role as the indicators of overall cultural and technological development. Each revolution in culture and science, subsequently depicted in arts. The prompt suggests that whether the government should fund arts to sustain it and make it accessible to the vast majority. In my not so humble opinion, I partially disagree with the statement that authorities should subsidize arts for the following reasons.

To begin with, funding the arts to make it available for the people will be reflected in the decreased quality of these arts, as the quality has to be sacrificed for the quantity. Quintessential art examples are born within a long time frame. For example, prominent Leonardo Da Vinci's masterpiece Mona Lisa has been made for almost twenty years and another five years to scrutinize it until it reaches perfection. So in order to get high-quality arts, it will be imperative to nurture the arts for sufficient time, so that majority can get access to the inspiring art product. The question is whether the government could or should sustain the arts industry for such a long time?

While others may see the development of the arts as somewhat paramount, however subsidizing arts demands cash injection in the long run. Point is that, would it be better to fund other sectors that are more essential rather than wasting money on arts. For instance, the health security sphere has more importance, and it directly contributes to the overall life quality of citizens. Consequently, sufficient subsidies in this sector will yield plausible results as increasing life expectancy, increasing population and so on. As can be seen from the example, governments should prioritize thus sectors of the society which in its effects will be more conducive to the well-being of the citizens, rather than profligating the taxpayers' money.

On the contrary, it would be imprudent to gainsay the fact that arts do contribute to the quality of life, by educating people and ameliorating the level of cultural sensitivity and cultural awareness. Especially, amplifying the position of the national arts may augment patriotism among the citizens, thus increasing loyalism and trust to their government. As an example, if the authorities fund national musicians, to motivate them in creating prominent music pieces, that could become renowned on the international level and popularity on that dimension enhance the goodwill of the country. Amplification of the goodwill contributes to increased tourism level and amends an economic perspective of the nation.

To conclude up, governments should prioritize thus sectors of the society that are paramount to citizens, rather than uncautiously wasting the money. However, in the case of arts pros and cons of such funding must be deliberately considered before making the decision.