Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Politicians mostly speak in an evasive way, and are not well known for their honesty. The statement in the prompt recommends that some people believes that politicians should not present all the information to the public, whereas others oppose the idea. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that political leaders should inform the public of any important information for two reasons, and don’t agree to it for one reason.

To begin with, the policies which are made are by politicians are mostly for betterment of citizen and their province/country. Information relating to these policies directly affect lives of population. It makes sense for people to have right to all the information which may dictate their day to day activity. For instance, in Dec 2017, India government announced demonetization of multiple rupee denominations. The announcement was effected from that point on, and 500 and 1000 rupee notes were not valid anymore. People were taken by surprise and caused a practical cash crunch all over the country. Many sectors (mainly tiny businesses) were affected because their customers had no cash. If population were provided some time to prepare for such a surprise, the decision would have been a huge success.

Furthermore, generally intricacies of any policy, or procedures are not made public, which may lead to false believes or rumours surrounding the decision. Few persons may take advantage of people without having knowledge, because of the false facts surrounding it. For example, in Jharkhand there was a government scheme where all the people below poverty line were getting their bank account opened without any charge. Since, it was advertised as a free scheme, it was a hugely popular. However, the information which was not shared is that there will a minimum amount lock down of 500 rupees, meaning person whose account is getting created must deposit 500 rupees in the account, which, even the amount will show up in balance, he may never be able to take it out. All the money deposited will be used by government or bank in many other investments, or several other purposes. If this information was properly made available, people can take more informed decision, leading them to choose a better option. Also, it will solidify their trust on politicians.

However, if the information is quite sensitive, it is better be private to politicians. This type of information may affect population’s sentiments, and the result may be hazardous. People may misuse sensitive information to their personal benefit. For instance, in 2014, some policies were made to benefit a particular religious society. If all the details were to be made public, the counterparts may not like it and may see an uproar, even more disastrous events. Politicians should be very careful while dealing with information which better be kept private.

In conclusion, it is very difficult to have a conclusive answer to this prompt. There should be a good reason to keep the information from public, otherwise making information public which may help public makes sense.