Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Author is claiming that one should start exercising at an early stage, it builds a foundation for a person’s health. Passage above provides several evidences as to why the food chain Nature’s way will be a hit in Plainsville. Since, the citizen of Plainsville are more inclined towards the exercise classes, parents will encourage children to follow their path as well.

However, the passage above fails to mention the reason why children will be as active as the current population. There are several unstated assumptions, which, if warranted, would significantly weaken the argument.

First of all, it is being considered, that Plainsville’s population is same as other areas, which may not be entirely true. Perhaps, citizen of Plainsville, think that the food in Nature’s way are preserved with chemicals and are not much interested, and rather prepare everything from the source itself. Also, maybe there was a sale in health clubs in Plainsville, which encouraged, citizens to purchase the health equipment, and join the classes, and the time when the data is collected that the aerobics and weight training classes are almost full, is the very beginning of the month, which is bound to decline as the month pass. Now, if the author is takes all this into consideration, it will positively make the argument more effective.

Moreover, the claim that Plainsville merchants report that the sales of exercise clothes and the running shoes are on all-time high, this doesn’t warrant few factors. Maybe the advertisements encouraged people to purchase exercise equipment which may not be the case always. Perhaps, the people of Plainsville have been suffering with obesity and doctors recommended citizens to have a healthy lifestyle, due to which the aerobic and weight training classes are full. This does not guarantee that people will purchase food, or health related products from Nature’s way. Also, it is possible that lot of competition is already present in Plainsville, which will strongly hamper the claim.

Furthermore, author also assumes that children will definitely take part in health programs, and the Nature’s way food chain will be a hit in future as well. But, here are some unwarranted assumptions which may question the author’s claim here. Maybe children are much more inclined towards studies than fitness programs. It will falsify the assumptions that children of Plainsville will take part in fitness for life program. Perhaps, the children are more likely to leave the town of Plainsville, in search of better career opportunities, and the program fitness for life may not be as huge as anticipated. These aforementioned assumptions, if acknowledged will definitely make the argument a valid one.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed, if the assumptions mentioned above are taken into consideration, the argument will be much more effective.