Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Government is a consortium of elected leaders by its populace. The government is for the people, by the people and from the people. We entrust the government to make decisions and pass laws which promote the society to its better form, than it currently is. The prompt provides a dilemma of a sort, as it suggests that some people find it necessary for political leaders of the government to withhold the information from its people, and some do not. I believe that the government should hold the information from its populace because of three reasons.

Atomic Energy innovations should not be made public. Every country is focusing on developing atomic energies and weapons for power and defense purposes. These innovations are motivated by use of constrained resources and improving defense systems, but if exposed to wrong hands can be detrimental to nations as these can easily be misused. It is because of above information, the government and political leaders hide these facts. Moreover, the patents filed on atomic energy or instruments are published in a specialized journal, which is not made available to the general public. This journal can however be accessed via few officials at higher level of hierarchy. This indeed is the correct approach, as it ensures these innovations are far from being misused. Thus, the political leaders and the government should hide this information.

It is important to hide information with respect to the defense oriented maneuvers.

The political leaders often make bold decisions to eliminate terrorist activities. Many secret service agents are involved in the missions – working for our wellbeing, are sometimes risking their lives by being physically involved in the terrorist groups as undercover agents. The political leaders of the government should under no circumstance reveal these critical and crucial information to the general populace, as it hinders with our security. For instance, the USA special service agent Robert James O'Neill who shot Osama was not revealed for long time. Similarly to ensure security of these agents and our country this information must be entrusted with political leaders and should not be made available to public.

Many political leaders apportion funds in order to meet demands of development proposals. Many proposals are introduced and only few worthy are driven to completion, the information of the projects not undertaken is of no worth to the populace and should not be made public. Many of the decisions are political in nature and are taken based on feasibility. If the information about rejected projects is made public, this might exacerbate the situations as people might be offended with the decision of not considering the given proposal. The above may be because individuals unwary of the detailed reason might feel it was intentional and would unnecessary hurt the reputation of the government.

Although one can argue that right to information act is introduced to keep people informed and prevent overpowering of the political leaders. However, perhaps the act should still have provision to hide sensitive information which if exposed will erode the security and wellbeing of the nation. Thus, as a whole the information should be hidden from the public if it is damaging to the nation as a whole. But, the information which is essential to the public according to the “right to information act” must be kept abreast to the public. Thus, as a whole it still remains a dilemma as of what information is worth exposing and what is not?