Some people believe that in order to be an effective leader, a political leader must yield to public opinion and abandon principles for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics never fails to attract people’s attention for it is tight to people’s life. Thus, there comes a voice that political leaders have to follow public opinion to be effective, while others claim that an effective leader should stick to principles and objectives. In my opinion, they both expose some limitations and a political leader should consider both of them.

First, with respect to domestic affairs, I partly agree with the former one. A nation is composed of people mainly. It is people who build our living surroundings, create art and culture, boost the economy, and make a nation a better place. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that a nation is hard to prosperous without people’s efforts. When it comes to people’s efforts, it is widely acknowledged that only when they have willingness and stimuli, could they take action. Thus, being a political leader who listens to public opinion is crucial since only in this way could people feel being respected and their civic rights are being protected, especially in a democratic society. If a political leader follows his thoughts or principles ignoring people’s voice, people may turn blind to some policies or even violate the principle, in this case, political leader’s decisions will face a tough time to implement.

What’s more, considering some principles’ practicality, public opinion also should be evaluated. To be more specific, there exists some principles and objectives that are too impractical to solve society problems appropriately since the government leader cannot get first-hand information personally. Some information gathered by researchers and experts could not depict the real circumstances or just be so superficial without digging into the roots, In this case, a policy based on fragmentary and imprecise information may fail to ameliorate some situations thus not being effective. The public could have more precise information nonetheless, simply because they are the witness so that have more real information that could not get through some inflexible scientific methods. For example, if a political leader wants to broaden the main way in city to relieve traffic jams because of the data showed in a scientific report that wider roads’ capacity is higher. While he probably didn’t notice it is pedestrians who consistently violate the traffic lights and cross the roads directly impede some cars in rush hours due to the absence of zebra stripes.

Aside from the foregoing two provisos, I fundamentally agree with the latter one.

Principles are the foundation of the operation of society and are capable of ensuring a society’s stability. First, operating a society is like launching gears, basic principles of matching every single aspect deserve to be taken into account or the system might collapse. Supposing that a political leader changes the settled rules and make compromises consistently, how could the public react to it? The public may get confused about some critical issues, such as the ethics of the colone in medical or nation border problems. A political leader serves as a guidelight to lead the whole nation to move forward in the same directions or there will be tremendous riots. What’s more, opinions from the public could be naïve and false. Holding their self-interests, people tend to appeal without considering the whole picture. It is the political leader who has his official groups composed of versatile talents and professional scientists can make cogitative acts.

In sum, both of the assertions presented exists some problems. I’m inclined to hold that being an effective leader should both address the public opinion and follow basic principles and objects, because only in this way can those issues that emerged in society be solved perfectly which is the most vital aspect of evaluating effectiveness.