The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

I agree with the speaker’s assertion that a great nation should have an indication of the great general welfare of its people. However, the speaker unnecessarily extends this assertion to the achievements of its rulers, artists and scientists are not indicators of a great nation while ignoring some vital aspects of society. My points of contention with the speaker involves social order and society advances, as discussed below.

With respect to society foundation-people, I agree that general welfare is important for evaluating a nation’s greatness. People are the very base of a nation, and always being considered the top priority. Only when people’s social welfare is guaranteed, can society’s development makes sense. Or, a society having high development without standard social welfare can’t be called a great nation. Let us look at India. India has a highly-developed technology center in Bangalore which is comparative to silicon valley in America and this country even owns nuclear weapons. However, focusing on developing technology and weapons does not ameliorate the situation that their people are living in a low-level society. What’s even worse, the divergence between religions and people exacerbates the social disorder leading people’s life more miserable there. I bet there is no one in the world who would call India a great nation.

Aside from this point, I fundamentally disagree with the speaker’s claim, rulers, artists, and scientists’ achievements should also be taken into account.

First, the impressive ability of a leader is vital for ensuring a society’s stability. Without democratic policies and stable social order, society will collapse. To be more specific, a ruler’s decisions permeate into every aspect of modern life. For example, during the period of the depression, strong spiritual support and ingenious policy- a new deal launched by the president franklin Roosevelt helped this nation to overcome an urgent and hazardous crisis, his imperturbable ability and the talent to solve crisis protected their people from getting more hurt and bring prosperity back to America. In this case, we could say that without a ruler’s effort and achievement, there will be tremendous riots in a country, which is obviously the opposite of a great nation.

What’s more, most aspects of society's development are related to the efforts made by artists and scientists. Taking a glimpse at the contemporary society, we can’t help but marvel at how advanced and convenient our life is. Thanks to the transportation vehicles, invented by mechanic scientists, we can have a more easier access to various places around the world. Thanks to the spread of internet, ensured by telecommunication scientists and computer scientists, we are capable of run errands sitting in the bedroom. Thanks to the cutting-edge medical pills and methods, researched in the medical and biological field, we could have a longer life span. When it comes to the artists, all of the soothing music and emerging cultural environment are created by them. They are such a release for those modern people under big pressure. Not to mention culture definitely is capable of uniting people so as to increase the cohesion of a nation, which can help a country to get over some huge crisis. Therefore, it is not hard to tell the pivotal places which rulers, artists, and scientists take in a society.

In sum, the speaker’s assertion that artists, rulers, scientists’ achievement are mot important begs the question because what they have done have tremendous ipact on our society. As for the assertion that general welfare is first consideration of a great nation, I simple agree because people are the foundation of a society.