Some people believe that in order to be a effective leader, political leader must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently commited to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics never fails to attract people's attention, for it is tight to people's life. Thus there comes a voice that political leaders have to follow public opinion to be effective. In contrast, others claim that an effective leader should stick to principles and objectives. In my opinion, leaders should listen to people's views while also following their directions.

First, concerning domestic affairs, I partly agree with the former one. A nation is composed of people who build our living surroundings, create art and culture, boost the economy, and make a nation a better place. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that a country would hardly prosper without people's efforts. When it comes to people's efforts, it is widely acknowledged that only with willingness and stimuli could they take action. Thus, a political leader who listens to public opinion is crucial since people will feel respected and protected, especially in a democratic society. If a political leader follows his thoughts or principles while ignoring people's voice, people may turn a blind eye to some policies or even violate regulations; in this case, political leaders' decisions will face a tough time implementing.

What's more, considering some principles' practicality, public opinion also should be evaluated. To be more specific, some principles and objectives are too impractical to solve social problems appropriately. Leaders cannot get first-hand information personally. Some information gathered by researchers and experts could not depict the real circumstances or could be superficial; in this case, a policy based on fragmented and imprecise information may fail to alleviate some situations, thus ineffective. Nonetheless, the public could provide more precise information because they are witnesses to their daily brunt. For example, say a political leader wants to develop a traffic solution and decide based on a scientific report. He may miss pedestrians who consistently violate traffic rules and cross the streets mindlessly, thus causing traffic jams.

Aside from the preceding two provisos, I fundamentally agree with the latter one. Principles are the foundation of society's operation and ensure social stability. First, operating a society is like launching gears; basic principles of matching every aspect deserve to be taken into account, or the system might collapse. Suppose a political leader changes the rules and consistently compromises. The public may get confused about critical issues, such as ethics on cloning or national border issues. A political leader serves to lead the whole country to move forward in the same direction, lest massive riots arise. Besides, opinions from the public could be naïve and false. Holding their self-interests, people tend to appeal without considering the whole picture. The political leader has his official groups composed of versatile talents, and professional scientists can do cogitative acts.

In sum, both of the assertions presented have some problems. I'm inclined to hold that being an effective leader should address public opinion and follow basic principles and objects. Only in this way can those issues that emerged in society be solved, which is the most vital aspect of evaluating effectiveness.