Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is an irreplaceable means to make students more competitive. Thus, there comes a voice that educational institutions should only encourage students to choose fields of research that can ensure them a lucrative career. Although this claim is not without merits when it comes to their financial support, I still think it is inappropriate for schools to do that considering the uncertainty of research and students’ learning process.

First of all, it is true that an educational institution is obligatory to enhance students and lead them to a better life. To be more specific, schools are supposed to provide magnificent knowledge, insightful suggestions, and help students better adapt to society. Supposing that a student chose a research field that has never come to any results, how could this student support himself after graduation? Not to mention a basic living standard. As common sense tell, a Solid financial basis is almost the prerequisite of everything; having a lucrative career plays a vital role in having better health care, having stable life quality, plus giving affluent support for their original family. This is especially true when it comes to those students who come from an indigent family or remote area. What’s more, preventing students from choosing some research that is hard to realize is also a way to protect them from suffering mental stress of being poor or unsuccessful.

However, choosing a research field merely on its profitability and possibility may be deleterious to students’ academic performance. Although a stable life quality is absolute of significance, students' interests should also be taken into account. Only letting students choose those so-called lucrative research while ignoring what they truly want to dig into might dampen their study enthusiasm, making them a poor school performance ultimately. Also, the author’s unwarranted assumes that studying in an apparent profitable field could actually lead them to success and bring them a better material life. Yet this is not actually the case. As we all know, success is accompanied by diligence and talent; enthusiasm could invoke students’ potential somehow. Accordingly, encouraging students only choose lucrative careers is like smothering their potential talent and even kill their future success.

Some people might argue that students’ interests are transient and fragile so that students are too naive to choose their fields of a future career. But who knows a spark could not develop into a huge fire. Also, as I mentioned before, Schools, serving as street lights, are supposed to give students’ full information, which can help students to make the decision.

Furthermore, considering the over-accelerated society and characteristics of research, it is hard to distinguish whether a research field could be successful or not. The invention of vaccines, needing tons of clinical experiments, are easy to fail in the end. But there do exist some possibilities that research on vaccines could turn into realization, such as the current research of coronavirus vaccine. All we need is more time. Also, with the fast development of technology, those technical obstacles hindering some researches might be obliterated in the future. Take the research in astronomy as an example. Tracing back to the past, it is not surprising that people might think landing on the moon is absurd while discouraging students to choose any related topic about celestial objects. However, with the development of nanotechnology and physics, spacecraft are available, leading astronomy research into a prosperous phase.

Admittedly, that school should lead students to a better wealth life considering its benefits. Nevertheless, any field could be successful with the aid of students’ passion, effort, and technology support. Thus, I suggest school help students make a full evaluation of a research field and their own conditions to make the most suitable decision not the lucrative one.