Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

In a democracy, law states that political leaders are elected by the people for the people. political leaders devise manifesto which addresses major problems that political party will strive to work on. In addition to this regional leaders act on regional problems as lot of problems are dependent on geography, economics of business and residents in that area. Some of the basic problems range from providing food, water, shelter for everyone in the community. While these basic needs are met, other part of the spectrum who are working class and small businesses, needs regular supply of electricity, necessary infrastructure and industries to work with and efficiently build the economy.

Political leaders shouldn’t yield to public opinion, as opinions can be decisive and can change in flick of moment and lead to drastic events. As a responsible public servant, leaders should be looking at big picture of the scenario to understand what created buzz around this issue and implications of this for the larger audience. while getting to know the root cause for conflicts there has to be debates around the topic which will infest and enforce pressure to compromise on principles and objectives because it benefits a section of people. History remembers hasty decisions which will have adverse affects as it will start a chain of events because of unequal justice to other section of people creating severe problems and issue will be sidelined.

Furthermore, Leaders have to stick to the principles since they are already proven to be effective. Taking inferences from the past to solve new problems is not new. Famous author San tzu’s, Art of war has proven that techniques for training armed forces still work today while the same techniques were followed way back during copper era. Political leaders have to know the issue and try to devise plans to effectively to resolve the conflict that would benefit both the sides of the spectrum. This canoe done by deliberating and having panel discussions with the problem solvers who are sensitive to understand the issue and try to solve with no to very less collateral damage.

However, this approach won’t work always. Depending on the sensitivity of the conflict leaders have to work on what best suits. Society and community are not dumb to spend lot of valuable time to protest for a cause. Our political systems and judiciary in so many nations are very slow because of limited resources. To wait for democratic system to give effective resolution won’t be effective all the time. For example, initiating incubators to encourage start-ups. Endorsing fund raisers to start new industries will be more effective and easy than to considering to solve it via law.

To summarise, Political leaders shouldn’t yield to public opinions as it may have adverse effects on different parts of society. Instead a thorough understanding of stake holders and actionables are to be devised and implemented to resolve the issue.