Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Purpose of education is to help us identify suitable path for us which can be followed throughout our life. In order to have basic knowledge and preliminary concepts for the suitable path, we have to go through formal education which offers courses with variety, some of which might seem to abstain us. Even Einstein, who was more interested in subjects like Science and Mathematics had to clear subjects like geography in his school life.

Formal education in school is very important even if some people might not like the courses offered. It helps the students to explore intricacies of various subjects, giving them a wider pool of subjects to choose from. Courses like English, Physical Education helps in the over-all development of student which are important distingushing factor between equally capable applicants whether in jobs or for higher studies. Formal education also creates a level playing ground for colleges looking for dedicated and sincere students. Many colleges, especially in the USA, have higher affinity for students with high extra-curricular activities but average grades against students with good grades but poor extra curricular activities.

Some people argue against the formal education by claiming it forces students in learning and wasting time in subjects they are not interested in. Instead they should be taught courses only in which they are interested. It would enable the students to focus more on their favourite subject, which would eventually lead to higher productivity of student and greater output for the nation. This would also enable more like-minded students to come together as compared to school offering formal education which would not only create increased competition, but also enhance the environment required for learning. For instance, if someone like Einstein was taught only physics and Mathematics, he would have made more discoveries and which would have resulted in better world.

However, it is very difficult for the student to determine their subject of interest. According to a survey by a student body in Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, it was revealed that ~70% of the students studying at the prestigious college were unsure about the choice of their future career. This survey indicates that even engineering students, in an engineering college at the average age of 21 are undecided about career. Therefore, it would be thoroughly impractical and unjust to most of the students in school to be required to choose their career at an early age. Avoiding interaction between students of different fields is often detrimental in future projects, which require thorough coordination among proffesionals of different streams. Even Einstein required to learn subjects like English, Social studies in order to better interact with the people around him. Had he been devoid of this knowledge, he might not have made even of his present discoveries and publications.

Therefore, variety in formal education is necessary for the over-all development of student and well being of society. A society where professionals lack interaction would frustrate an all-round development of society.