Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Animals and plants being on the edge of extinction is no longer a “new” issue for us. In the last century, we, humans, have shockingly witnessed the disappearances of several vulnerable species. On our quotidian day, we can easily encounter multiple news, advertisements, and campaigns about protecting the wild, which makes most of us all aware of this matter. While some people advocate that humanity must take responsibility to ameliorate the situation by allocating the great expense of effort, time, and financial well-being to it, others totally disregard this viewpoint. In my opinion, I partly agree with the former for the following reason.

To start with, the intactness of the ecosystem plays a crucial role in human life. Every species is a part of an enormous food chain, therefore, the distinction of one plant can lead to the distinction or outburst of other animals. In either way, it compromised the balance of the ecosystem and therefore directly affects or even threatens human life. For instance, agriculture is the industry that suffers the most from this matter. History has demonstrated that in many parts of the world, crops were seriously damaged due to the excessive growth of insects since the number of birds feeding on these creatures plummeted. Moreover, just imagine, if a certain type of animal fed on rats, such as cats, were eliminated from the food chain, streets around the world would be taken over by rats and it would pave way for the plague to make a comeback and knock on each of our doors.

On the other hand, it is somewhat justified for some people to focus our resources on other more pressing issues. The unbalance of the eco-system is, in fact, a long-term problem and, to some extent, not as urgent as other issues, especially in underdeveloped countries where the resources are highly limited. It would be a challenge for many African countries to spend their budget on protecting the wild when the people there are still struggling to feed their family daily or in some parts of the world that are still dealing with civil war, the safety of one’s being is their top priority and concern. However, this is exactly the reason why international organizations funded by developed countries are formed to preserve wild species around the world with the help of natives. Protecting plants and animals is not the duty of one particular country but the responsibility of every individual who lives and walks on Earth. Those with resources can help financially, those without can help in many other ways. Each of us can have a distinctive approach to preserve the intactness of nature, regardless of our background.

To conclude, deciding to allocate resources on whether protecting plants and animals or other concerning problems has never been an easy question to answer. Nevertheless, I believe that the consequences of us interfering with the balance of nature cannot be ignored and every single one of us is responsible. Overcome the resource differences, we can have our own way to protects the wild and preserve our precious eco-system.