Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and

filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such

success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

The idea that a genuis has their eureka moment and it all makes perfect sense is an apocryphal notion, and an insidious one. All children have apspirations whether they are to paint, engineer, or cure the sick. As they grow older and mature, they begin to understand their limitations and the abilities of their peers. When the realisation hits that their dream requires a lot more perseverence than formally anticipated, it can often seem too daunting to even hope to achieve, some abandoning their aspirations altogether. What may be the factor which contributes most to this sad result is the idea that some people are just born with "it", and that they are no genius.

Often paraded as a posterboy for genius, Albert Einstein is synonymous with the "eureka moment", however much less is widely known are his difficulties through his studies, barely passing non scientific or mathematical subjects to the point that he was refused entry to study university physics. While he had many great discoveries, he faced and overcame many challenges, with each stroke of genius a result of tireless perseverence.The reality is that when someone practices and perfects away from the public eye it can appear that their actions are effortless, however no one is born with knowledge. Furthermore, though physics is widely regarded as a purely intellectual field it is rarely appreciated apart from esoteric to the discipline the need for creativity, and in the case of Einstein, paradigm shifting in its impact.

It cannot be denied that people have strengths and weaknesses, some may be able to draw effortlessly without any instruction where others struggle to draw a model house. The development of creative skills comes easily to some and for others requires the brain to be taught. Many believe that only a special few can draw or paint however this is more of a zeitgeist of the modern age. Pre world-war, it was expected that women would learn how to sew, play an instruments or sing, and due to this expectation they learned how to do it. Now that people are encouraged to do what is most fulfilling to them -which is usually what they are naturally gifted in- there is little spirit of learning a creat craft.

There is rarely a filmmaker or writer who didn't study their profession formally, and even rarer so is the talented filmmaker who is not addicted to their work, or the writer who has no need of an editor. Whilst creatives may seem to be a one man band there is a complex system of people behind them who ensure their vision is fulfilled. Nonetheless, there is usually a charasmatic and unorthodox thinker at their helm pushing the development into unusual avenues. Traits such as passion, perseverence and self motivation are much better predicters of success than being a child prodigy, however when they accompany each other it is surely a recipe for staggering success.