Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

The future of a nation depends upon its people and their mindsets. I strongly say that morality combined with logical reasoning together would do more to produce a moral society.only morality or only reasoning would not suffice, let me demonstrate on this more.

lets see what will happen if only morality is taught.Yes children will know all about morals and things one should do while living in a nation like Cleanliness,respecting elders and woman, not deceiving others,no bribes,no fraud and no Crimes,but knowing is different and following is different and again following is different and making others to follow is different.Like the well known proverb says -"Be the change you wanted to see in society", lets hope that children who learn morality will follow them. now coming to statistics,how many educated people are there and how many uneducated, and also there are persons already in society who don't follow any morals. only learning and following wont make a moral society,you have to influence others,to do that you need reasoning skills.

what if you know only reasoning: he might or might not be moralistic. he has good reasoning skills that implies that he is smart, so in every hard situation he has the ability to either escape from it or be there and help everyone to come out of the situation. In this case, the change completely depends on the mindset of the person, he might have innate morals and can save the people around him or he might be so self centered and he will think about only himself which will not provide a so called moral society we are talking about.

now imagine a person having both morality and reasoning, he knew what has to be done and he has the ability to make people around him understand why they have to follow the morals and what are the pros of following and what are the cons of not following them will result. For an instance, consider a bank is hijacked,person with only morals will tell the criminals that what they are doing is wrong, and person who is good at his mind will find a way and evade, but a person who learns both will persuade others in the bank and will try to come up with a solution.I wont assert that he will save everybody but atleast someone started thinking about what to do.As we all know -"well begin is half done".

Therefore, as i explained above, to produce a moral society a citizen should have a foundation of both morals and logical reasoning.