Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The arugment indicates two opposing views: a) those in favor of environment who believe that nature should be preserved by an orderly government, and b) others who believe lands should be developed for the sake of economic gains. I tend to take the position of those belonging in group (b) for two major reasons as detailed in the sequel.

First, we’re living in a world in which resources are limited while demand and consumption continue to surge. There are many occassions where we can harness the resuorces embeded in the heart of the nature so as to meet the ever-growing trend in global demand and consumption. For example, numerous oil sands reserves have been identified by large corporation such as Imperial Oil Ltd. and Suncore Energy, among others, which if left untapped could make energy supply an even bigger issue in the future.

Second, preserving the land does not necessarily entail abandoning it; just because natural areas need to remain protected does not mean that it should be left in their original natural state. Development can occur prodently while taking into account the interest of all stakeholders including those in favor of protecting the environment. Historically, this has taken place in several occassions where the owner of the land adhers to certain rules and regulations to establish his/her intention to preserve the nature while following his/her agenda. Going back to the oil sands reserves, one can see the tremendous efforts put in place by oil companies in order to reclaim the land to its original state once the reserve have been depleted. this ensures a sustainable development leaping economic benefits while protecting everyone’s interests.

Having said that, I do believe that the government should meddle by establishing a regulatory process to help in reaching a balance between economic gains and natural preservation. This enriches trust between the government, the general public, interest groups, and other organizations and ensures sufficient scrutiny to preserve the environment. Afterall, there is no doubt that human beings need to be mindful of future generations to enjoy these natural resources as they are not meant to be fullfilling our current needs.

In summary, two major reasons were presented to defend my position in taking advantage of natural resources for the sake of economic benefits. However, this should take place in a balanced and sustainable manner so as to preserve the nature not only for our generation but for many generations to come.