Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is in fact the general welfare of all its people Write a respons

Given the context of a third world nation like the US which dominates the world, it is imperative that achievements in science and technology reached its acme in the country, thereby pushing it to one of the powerful nations of the world. However, the prompt suggests that the welfare of a nation’s people indicates the nation’s greatness, which conflicts with my opinion. I strongly believe that the achievements of a nation’s rulers, artists, scientists, and others so forms the backbone for disseminating the greatness of a nation to the entire world. Having said this, the reason I can give is the benefits the nation would reap from the endeavors of its great personalities.

Even though a lot of can be attributed to the welfare of the people to achieve greatness, a nation is broadly weighed based on the current advancements and its past glory. For instance, the rich cultural and literature achievements of various artists and scholars in England still stands as a noteworthy accomplishment when juxtaposed with the literature of others. However, one may wonder about the advantages of these accomplishments to the welfare of its people. To delineate the point, an enormous economy is generated for the common people when its paragons achieve the most out of the resources. To exemplify, a web of economic ecosystem is protected when the ruler of a nation imposes a special tax on other countries for all its export. Nevertheless, it is important to analyze the socio-economic achievements attained. Artistry for example is an important field which enhances tourism to the country, thus generating a never-ending revenue to the nation. This revenue is in turn interconnected with the employment opportunities to the people in and around the premises of a tourist attraction. Thus, the corollary that one can infer is achievements in any form is a boon in disguise that provides opportunities for people’s welfare.

Moreover, a major share of the welfare that people enjoy costs as much as the life of a soldier sacrificed in protecting one’s own nation. Unless a nation puts forward a financial budget for military equipped with sophisticated warfare, it is surely considered as an impoverished one that patently depend upon the advanced country for warfare support. Since there are various reasons that can be ascribed for susceptibility to 3rd world war, a ruler who has extravagantly invested in warfare is considered as one of the greatest of all times. Such is the case with China and US, where their rulers invest enormous amount of manpower and unimaginable war equipment which is an extraordinary allotment to protect its nation from any nearby hostile nations. Perhaps, the achievements of these rulers make up the perfunctory headlines of the news in almost nooks and corner of the world.

To conclude, it is unorthodox to think that endeavors and welfare are almost two disparate sections of a society. In fact, they go hand in hand with each other underscoring the personal achievements of the people as it is unequivocally a proponent for the welfare of the people.