Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is one of the tools which has lead to the rise of human beings. One key aspect of education is the ability to reason out on why something is happening without just accepting that it is happening. The provided statement takes this into account in suggesting that students should always question on what they are thaught intead of accepting it passively. The statement literally means that irrespective of what is being thaught students should always question. Well questioning might be good, but always questioning might be a trouble to the teacher.

We check our understanding by posing questions and answering them. At times, our understanding could be completely wrong and thus the answer we derive from that understanding will obviously be wrong. Hence, When students are taught in the class its good to make sure that they have understood the concepts correctly by posing questions. For example, A teacher might state that rotation of the earth on its axis and its revolution around sun results in day and night along with different seasons. At this point if student just accepts it passively, he would take this as the fact and miss the reason behind that. If he poses the question why is that the rotation leads to day and night he will get the answer that as earth rotates the part that is facing the sun shifts leading to day and night. And this is the correct understanding which is based on reasoning.

Intelligent questions lead to innovation. We think because we ask questions. If just keep accepting facts as such there is no room for innovation. On top of that what we have discovered as of now might be wrong, when students start raising their doubts on current findings that is when new ideas are born. For example, initially everyone belived that the earth was flat and that is what they taught in school. Until Galileo questioned why the earth is flat and came up with reasons refuting the fact no one did think other wise. We have come this long because of our questioning ability.

Questions might be overwhelming and redundant. As statement suggests if every students starts to pose questions then the evey class would start with a fact, followed by question answering session. Teachers will get tired of same questions being asked by different students in different classes. While out of the box thinking and questions is what that brings us up, irrelevant questions raised just for the sake of asking questions will take the fun out of it.

In the current world students are able to learn in several ways in addition to asking questions to the teachers which includes searching the web, refering the library, etc. Although, getting it from the teacher might be diffferent from looking it themselves, a student should first try to search for himself before getting the help of teachers. This way he is building a new skill which will help him even in the absence of a teacher. Asking questions is good, but always asking it to the teacher might not be good.