Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

Students should always question the education they receive. The instinct to question knowledge is a critical skill that will benefit students in their academic and professional journeys. Questioning course materials perhaps means that students are actively participating in the study. Because casting doubts on a subject requires students to think critically. Therefore, I strongly agree with the proposed idea that students should always question their given materials in school.

Students should be encouraged to question their learning materials when studying social science. Social science subjects, such as humanity, culture, and politics, have many variables. Cultural and political studies are heavily depending on geography and community traits. These facets do not stay unchanged. They change with time and migration of people. Thus, concepts and definitions vary as society moves forward. It is also possible that emerging concepts and studies will be introduced by social scientists every year. If students passively accept knowledge without questioning the validity, they might learn something outdated and not practical.

Students should also be encouraged to question natural science, but with caution. Our predecessors have developed natural science such as biology and chemistry. Most fundamental concepts were tested and factually correct. Students should trust reliable scientific findings and theories so that they can build a great foundation in science. It would be better for them to question the authority of some science when they comprehend the necessary knowledge.

The ability to question given materials enhances students’ problem-solving skills. Proving a course material wrong requires students to research and argue what they think it’s accurate. The process of research and reasoning trains students to be more prudent and detail-oriented. This skill of making rationales will also benefit students in their future careers. When it comes to a disagreement, students will know how to solve the issue with accurate methods and professional attitude. Thus, teamwork efficiency will improve.

However, teachers should teach students how to think critically and come up with valid doubts in students’ early ages. Students in elementary schools are still developing their perceptions of the world. It is important for someone to guide them and teach them skills like critical thinking. Therefore, teachers should not only teach students how to study but also teach them how to question properly. Learning such skills at an early age allows students to study independently when they enter higher education.

The education system should encourage students to question things they are not sure about. The freedom to propose question will not only refine the human knowledge base but also elicit better teamwork outcome in the professional world.