Students should bring a certain skepticism to whatever they study. They should question

what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

Questioning is the reflection of curiosity. It is therefore every students should keep on doubting the things what they are taught until they get the clear concept of it which is important not only to have a lucid idea of whatever they are taught but also to develop the creativity and imagination. When students have an habit of doubting: they can create new way of dealing on the same matter (imagination), they develop a habit of meticulous reading and it is ultimately important to develop their personality.

First, if Galileo, an Italian astronomer of seventeenth century, passively accepted the idea put forth by church that, earth is the center of the whole universe (a geocentric approach) he would not be successful to enunciate his heliocentric approach, which suggests that it is not sun but earth which rotates around the sun. His skepticism on the widely believed and even taught idea led him to a development of well known scientific theory upon which all the astronomical calculations are based till now. This example is sufficient to justify that skepticism lead to the development of new idea leading a new discovery.

Second, as said by a Noble laureate Dan Sechmen, Chemistry 2016, he discovered the idea of quasi crystal, which was against the well believed idea about the formation of crystals, was the result of consistent determination and the skepticism on the well believed idea of general crystals. According to generally believed idea, crystals must be regular and periodic( atoms arranged in a periodic pattern) but his discovery led the new type of crystals which are regular but not essentially periodic. This is one best example proving that his skepticism on generally believed idea about crystals how led him upto the Noble prize.

Accepting everything passively what are taught may lead a serious problem of laziness among the students which have been observed in the past few years of the scenario of higher level school students. Students are provided with all notes in the classroom which they passively accept and even do not follow the text books and references. These students are found to give much poor performances in the entrance examination and other aptitude tests. It further bolsters the notion supporting skepticism.

As a concluding remark, skepticism has led more achievements in the fields of natural sciences. So, students should bring skepticism on the study is justifiable.