The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation can be deemed great for various attributes such as happiness of people, achievements at an international level, economic stability etc.

One cannot restrict the term greatness to a specific set of variables. The prompt says that a nation is great not by the virtue of few people, rather the well-being of all it's citizens.

In my opinion, I agree with the prompt for the below three reasons.

To begin with, a nation encompasses all it's citizens as a whole. The happiness with which it's people are able to enjoy their life plays an important role in the progress of the nation.

To illustrate, North Korea is an Asian country which is known for it's strict and egregious laws. The country is ruled by a dictator and people live in fear all their lives.

The fear results in reducing the productivity and enthusiasm, hampering the nation's growth. Though the country may have achieved nuclear status(which is a great achievement), hungry kids on the street don't really justify the achievement.

Even though a nation is progressing in the name of development, in a hundred years it would no longer be a nation(as there won't be any people surviving).

Further, each country is measured on multiple attributes to be a great nation and cannot be justified by the achievements of a few individuals.

To elaborate, India is a country known for it's contribution in the field of science and technology. Many of the industry's leading personnel comprises of Indians.

Indians have excelled at global platform in terms sports, education, space, etc. Are these achievements enough to mark India as a great nation? No.

There are millions of Indians starving to death everyday. Many corrupt officials ruling the state and making life hell for their subjects.

There is no basic infrastructure such as electricity, water at many rural areas. All these points suggest how individual achievements are not the only parameters to be considered for greatness.

One might argue that, just well-being of people is not enough for an economy to survive, many other factors, including achievements play an important role.

It's true that general well-being may not be the surest indicator, considering how major economies such as China, keep people satisfaction aside in the race for greatness.

But, a nation whose citizens aren't thriving, may have to go out of their way to prove their greatness.

To conclude, a nation is great by a multitude of factors. People make a country great, by their achievements, by dilligence in their work, making sure the country is progressing.

Considering the wide horizons in which greatness can be explored, one cannot be sure of general well-being as the most important attribute to measure greatness.