The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets,

whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent.

Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent.

These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result.

Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents,

the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

An article which appeared in a health newsletter stated that the government should focus more on educating people about bicycle safety than persuading them to wear helmets. The proposition is based on the fact that more accidents happen because people tend to take more risks while wearing helmets, the number accidents have increased irrespective of increase in the number of bicyclists and no injuries have happened due to natural or unpredictable circumstances. However, the above argument would be deemed viable if there is necessary evidence to support the below three assumptions.

Firstly, it is assumed that people take more risks while wearing helmets compared to while not wearing one. There is no strong evidence to validate the assumption. There maybe certain section of people who are adrenaline junkies, and tend to operate in a raffish manner. These people, have total disregard to life and would be ready to take risks irrespective of the presence of a helmet. One cannot generalize that every individual who wears a helmet is going to take an unnecessary risk. People from staid environments respect rules and tend to follow them with diligence. Thus, the above stated assumption may need more data to validate the argument.

Secondly, the article states that there has been an increase in the number of accidents over a 10 year period but totally discounts the fact that even the number bicyclists would have increased. The more the number of people riding bicycle, the higher the number of accidents. One cannot conclude that the increase in number of accidents is directly proportional to people taking more risks due to helmets. If there is necessary data that states that the number of bicyclists remained the same over the course of 10 years, then the attribute of higher accident rate can be related to helmets. Until then, it shall remain open ended.

Thirdly, the author assumes that all the accidents that have happened are due to people taking risks. This may not be completely true. People would be involved in accidents due to inadvertent situations such as being hit by a car driven by a drunk person, obstructed by animals, bicycle failure with respect to brakes, tires etc. These are a few to state. One cannot narrow down the cause for all the accidents to one particular reason unless necessary evidence or data is obtained. If the number of accidents due to people taking risks increases over the 10 year period, then one can validate the assumption and proceed further.

In conclusion, the author basis his recommendation on a number of above unwarranted assumptions which totally derail the argument. The author needs to provide necessary evidence and data to support his claim and assumptions so that it can be validated further. Until then, the argument shall remain flawed.