The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the determinant of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists, but the general welfare of its people. Admittedly, the overall welfare of citizens is very important for a nation, the establishments of artists and rulers of a country also can indicate a great nation.

The well-being of people is an indicator of a great nation. Take Sweden as an example. The country in the northern Europe is known for the happiness of its people because the country has free national health service, a large amount of insurance for elderly residents, disabled people as well as unemployed labors. Moreover, women, LGBTQs and other marginalized people are treated equally in this country where people are open-minded and comprehensive. Although total GDP of Sweden is not the highest throughout the world and there are not as many prominent enterprises in the country as those in the United States, Sweden is paradise for people from other countries which have amazingly large volume of products and incredibly high GDP. So who can deny that Sweden is not a great nation.

However, the overall welfare of a nation’s people is not the only indicator of a great nation. The achievements of its rulers can also presage the nation’s greatness. Take Franklin Roosevelt as an example. He directed the federal government during most of the Great Depression, implementing his New Deal domestic agenda in response to the worst economic crisis in U.S. history which successfully help the nation recovering from the depression. Having a president like Roosevelt which implying an efficient and feasible electoral system, is an important indicator of a great nation. Compared with the system of a line of monarch which is based on blood rather than ability, the American-styled electoral system have superiority as the best politician can be elected through debates and discussions.

In addition, the achievements of writers as well as movie makers can also indicate a great nation. For example, Shakespeare who is famous for his brilliant dramas like Romeo and Juliet as well as Hamlet makes his motherland – Britain- become a country of literature. Thanks to Shakespeare, people living in the nation regard poets, writers and playwrights as intellectuals and give them high social status, which is uncommon in other countries. Also, famous French film director like François Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard, the founders of the French New Wave, totally change the definition of movies and people’s opinion towards movies. And movies have become an indispensable part of French people since the New Wave.

In a nutshell, both general welfare of people and achievements by its rulers as well as writers and directors are indicators of a great nation.