The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use butter to refer to either butter or magarine. To bolster this argument, the author points out that the replacement of butter by margarine does not have significant effect on consumers. However, there are still a myriad of explanations which could rival the proposed explanation of the argument.

Firstly, the author mentions that only about 2 percent of customers have complained of the replacement. But this survey is not warranted because there are other explanations of the survey. The selected sub-group may not be representative of the whole general group. It is likely that all the selected customers are from China where only small portion of people consume butter and cannot distinguish butter from margarine, thus, they will not complain about the replacement. But not all the customers in southwestern United States are from China. Therefore, to back the argument, the author should provide more information about whether the sample is representative or not.

Secondly, the statement that servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine is unsubstantiated as there are additional explanations that may rival the statement. The author assumes that their words are reliable and stank for all the servers, Nevertheless, they may distort the actual condition and tell the lie to the surveyor s to not to have conflicts with their bosses who make the resolution to replace butter by magarine. Thus, without additional information of whether those servers tell the truth or not, it is difficult to access the merit of the statement.

Thirdly, the author assumes that these consumers do not distinguish butter from margarine or confuse the term butter and margarine. Actually, there are other explanations that can explain why there are few complains of the replacement. Perhaps consumers just do not have time to make a complaint, or they do not know how to complain about the replacement, or more commonly, presents are offered by servers if consumers if they mark favorite comments. In conclusion, in order to better strengthen the assumption, I would need more detailed information involving the reason why those consumers do not make complaints.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as there are several explanations that can rival the proposed explanation. If the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.