Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that educational institutions should encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. Admittedly, those students may have more incentive to study, they will lose opportunities to learn majors that they are really interested in and are beneficial for the overall society.

Students have incentive to study majors like finance or computer science because they know they if they learn that well, they can step into higher social status and earn a large amount of money. Take business colleges as example. Business colleges are often much more difficult to enter than other colleges like Literature or Art colleges as students want to be engaged in investment banks and securities traders in the future. And as long as one student is enrolled in the business college, he or she will be stuck into the rat race and have to study very hard gain high GDP. Moreover, in order to be competitive in the labor market, he or she has to win internship of big name companies and commit to volunteering and scientific research. Thus, to achieve the dream of being financial elite, those students in Business Colleges are more motivated in studying and having internship.

However, choosing fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers may avoid them purchasing career they are really interested in. For example, if a student is interested in journalism, but she is encouraged to learn Artificial Intelligence and finally choose the major she does not like, she will be upset while learning the hot major. Reading books like Public Opinion by Lippmann and The Society of the Spectacle by Guy Debord, she will be regretful for not choosing to learn Journalism in the past and has to use additional time to self-learn courses of Journalism to engage in the field of Journalism when she graduates. Therefore, it is really wasteful of time.

In addition, only learning majors like finance and computer may prevent students being devoted in fields that are really beneficial for the well-being of the residents in the overall society. MPP is a good example. It is a major that prepare students to do jobs in non-governmental organizations like Humane Society and International Organizations like the United Nation. Working in those NGOs cannot earn as much money like working in investment banks and internet companies, but can help to protect animals, promote women empowerment and encourage social understanding of LGBTQs, which are very helpful for the well-being of humans.

In a nutshell, although encouraging students learning fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers can give them more incentives to study, they will not be enrolled in fields that they will like and are helpful for the overall society.