In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements in any field of endeavor. Admittedly, in fields like mathematics and biology, the previous achievements can be influential to nowadays contribution, works by predecessors may block innovation in fields like literature and art.

In the field of mathematics, all famous mathematicians further develop geometry or algebra based on the principles and theories established by former mathematicians. Take famous mathematician as an example. Newton contributed a lot to the development of calculus, and his work extensively uses calculus in geometric form based on limiting values of the ratios of vanishingly small quantities: in the Principia itself, Newton gave demonstration of this under the name of "the method of first and last ratios" and explained why he put his expositions in this form, remarking also that "hereby the same thing is performed as by the method of indivisibles."

However, in the field of literature and art, former masterpieces may be the hinder of further development. For example, James Joyce, the pioneer of the stream of consciousness, is not influenced by any former novelists, and wrote the brilliant book Ulysses which is full of psychological descriptions and disordered plots. But those tactics were considered insane and stupid in the age of Joyce. And as regard to Paul Gauguin, the painter who is known for The Yellow Christ and Spirit of the Dead Watching, used of color and Synthetist style that were distinctly different from Impressionism. His expression of the inherent meaning of the subjects in his paintings, under the influence of the cloisonnist style, paved the way to Primitivism and the return to the pastoral.

In other fields of social science, it is not necessary that a scholar must be affected by previous scholars. Lazarsfeld, the famous socialist, first used empirical research to examine the issues about sociology and communication. In the past, researchers in the field of social science only use analytical thinking to explain phenomenon in the society, which lacks scientificalness and are not warranted. But Lazarsfeld applied quantitative method like questionnaire and content analysis as well as qualitative method like text analysis and field research to the study of social science and make the research of social science more substantiated.

In a nutshell, it is not always that the influence of former giants are crucial to the future development of the field.