The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States. "For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin.Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author concludes that the store need to discontinue stocking imported cheese and concentrate on domestic cheeses to increase the profit. To bolster the argument, the author points out a survey did by the World magazine and the fact that all the five best-selling cheeses at their new stores are domestic cheeses last year. However, unless several questions have been answered, the argument does not hold water.

Firstly, the author mentions that the five best-selling cheeses in their sore were all domestic cheeses from Wisconsin last year. But does everything hold constant over this year? Actually, many conditions and factors may have changed over the past one year. Perhaps, advertisements of imported cheese from France have gone popular this year, and consumers have changed their preference. It is also possible that some noxious substances have been found in domestic cheeses, and to avoid being poisoned because of those noxious substances, consumers choose to purchase imported cheeses rather than domestic cheeses. Therefore, to back the argument, the author should provide more information of whether all conditions have remained unchanged over the past one year.

Secondly, the survey demonstrating that there is an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among the World magazine subscribers is unwarranted. Are the subscribers of the World magazine all from the United States, and if so, do them scatter around the country? It is likely that the main audience of the magazine are from the Europe or Asia rather than from the United States, and because the cheese stores only locate throughout the United States, the result of the survey cannot be applicable to the cheese store. It is also likely that the magazine is a local magazine and most of subscribers of the magazine are only from one county, thus, the sample of the survey is not representative enough. In conclusion, without additional information about the audience of the World magazine, it is difficult to access the merit of this survey.

Thirdly, the author assumes that as long as the store discontinues stocking imported cheese and concentrate on domestic cheeses to increase the profit, the profit will increase. But what about the expense? Profitability is restricted by revenue and expense. Without weighing the expense against revenue, it is unsubstantiated to indicate that the profit will increase. If the charges for water and electricity and the renting cost rises, despite the revenue climbs because concentrating the domestic cheeses, the final profit may decline. Thus, in order to justify the assumption, I would need more detailed information involving the expense of the stores.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it fails to answer additional questions. If the argument had included the given factors discussed before, it would have been more logically acceptable.