In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that progress needs discussion among people who have contrasting points of view in any situation. Admittedly, the best opinion can win out after discussion, discussion may cause social hysteria and individual’s endeavor can also bring out progress.

According to the ancient Greek philosophy, the most reasonable opinion can win after fierce discussions. Take the Ancient Greek as an example. The nation which is known for direct democracy is one of the origins of Western civilization, and those brilliant philosophers like Aristotle and Plato have influenced hundreds of precedent philosophers profoundly. Also, political system like democracy and ideals like freedom and individualism have become inveterate ideals and principles of Western people. And all those great achievement were gained because of its system- all resolutions had to be decided by all its people through fierce discussions.

However, discussions and debates may cause general hysteria and inefficiency. Like what is claimed in the book Public Opinion written by famous socialist Lippmann, as people hold totally opposite opinions and they cannot persuade each other, people will have conflicts with other people and even abhor each other. Thus, no final outcome will be gained and no achievement will be made. For example, with the greater polarization throughout the United States, people who lean right side never watch CNN or read the New York Times which are famous for left-leaned speeches. And at the same time, those middle-class citizens also seldom watch the FOX and always criticize Twitters tweeted by the president. Both the two group cannot persuade each other and those news organizations which are established primarily for public discussion have become useless and biased. Therefore, it is clear that discussions cannot always lead to efficiency, instead may cause inefficiency.

In addition, individual’s endeavor can also contribute to progress in her or his field. Famous writer James Joyce is a good example. The author of Ulysses, an avant-garde of modernism in the field of literature, coined the stream of conscience and used a lot psychological descriptions and disordered timeline in his books, which mark the beginning of another era of literature. Other famous writers of modernism like Virginia Woolf was influenced by Joyce a lot. Therefore, the progress of literature is made by a writer’s innovation and genuity.

In a nutshell, not only public discussions but also a person’s endeavor can bring about progress.