Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Merit-based salaries have been applied in varies fields with varying successes for quite some time. As it has it's advantages when applied in quantifiable fields such as software development, however, less practical when professions which yield result in long-term is considered. Teaching falls in the latter category. The prompt suggests that students academic performance should be the sole judge for teacher's salary. I mostly disagree with this claim as the teacher's job is far more complexed than just ensuring student get good grades.

First of all, judging solely on academic results ignores all the other impacts teacher has on it's students. Student in his early years is not only developing his academic skills but also his mental skills. For someone who is involved in most of the students early development, it is necessary that they ingrain moral values in their students along with academic. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar-one of the all-time greatest batsman- still acknowledges his school teacher not because she taught him how to solve algebra but, because she taught him a valuable lesson that "nothing comes easy in life". This shows that the teacher has far more duties than just improving his students' grades.

Furthermore, teacher is not the only reason that has an impact on student's performance. The school's ambiance and its infrastructure is equally responsible. For example, if the school is located near a construction site, then no matter how good the teacher is because of noise pollution the student wouldn't be able to comprehend what the teacher taught them. Moreover, if the school doesn't provide enough facilities i.e., laboratories, library, etc. it can seriously hinder students learning abilities. In such a case, a teacher's role in teaching is limited because of external factors.

Finally, some might say that a merit-based salary can encourage a teacher to focus more on his students. It might be true but it can also have adverse effects as the teacher might be bent to just focus on the academic part of the job and might not be interested in making the student a better person. In the above case, though it might have a good impact on students academic, however, his ingeniousness might be hindered. Thus, making student one-dimensional.

In conclusion, I would say that due to the complex nature of teacher's job it is not advisable to judge them just based on their students' academic performance thus, such a system shouldn't be implemented.