Teacher's salary should be based on student's performance

Teaching is crucial to a nation’s development. Teacher has the responsibilities to educate and prepare the younger generation to organize the country in the future. Without a good education program, a country’s development may suffer greatly due to lack of skillful human resources. Despite the importance of teacher’s role, it is quite shocking that teacher’s salary is relatively low compared to other jobs that require the same amount of education. This will be even worse if teachers’ salaries have to be equaled with how well their students’ grades are.

Imagine that two teachers teach two different classes, where the first teacher teaches a class that has smart and hardworking students. While the second teacher has to deal with a class that most of the students are lazy and having average intelligence. The result will be obvious despite both teachers perform equally well. If the first teacher received higher compensation due to his/her students’ excellent performance, will it be fair for the second teacher? In conclusion, the student’s grade does not reflect how well the teacher’s performance is. Teacher’s performance indeed affects the student’s grade. However, student’s grade is mostly based on how big the student’s own effort.

Some people that support the idea of proportionating teacher’s salary with students’ academic performance might argue that such policy will encourage teacher to bring a better work ethic. However, such action might lead the teacher to focus on the student’s grade, not to the comprehension level of the students. In order to increase their salaries, teachers might give students more homework, which can lead to the increase of stress level among the students. This is definitely not the goal of the education system. The point of student coming to school is to understand the material and apply it in real life, not to get a bunch of A.

While the idea might seem interesting, it actually takes the benefits away from some teachers who have to instruct the not-so-great students. A better solution would be to adjust the teacher’s salary with the amount of work that s/he has to give. For example, a teacher who has more students with bad academic record, deserves a better pay grade.