A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is one of the aspect that determines whether a nation is fully developed or not. Academic institutions have the responsibility to teach and nurture the younger generation that will lead the nation in the future. There are several ways that a nation can do to improve the quality of its education system. One of the ways is to ensure that all citizens are being taught the basic of some important subjects. To do that, every school in a nation should apply the same curriculum to ensure all students are learning the important subjects.

The first reason why students should study the same material is to create an even field when they entering college. If there are two economic students that do not have the same mathematical background, it will be very disadvantageous for the student who has lower mathematical knowledge. Student with the less mathematic background might need to spend additional semester to make up for his/her lacking knowledge. This surely will delay the creation of a nation’s skilled workers, which will have negative impact to the economy.

Another reason why student should study under the same curriculum is to help them to discover their interest. You will not know that you like to sing until you try it. By exposing students to various subjects, students will know better the subject that they are passionate about. On the other hand, student will also recognize which subject that they dislike. In conclusion, not only student will discover their passion, they will also avoid the pitfall of choosing the career that are not interesting to them.

Some people might argue that student should only learn the material that s/he interested into. This statement is true only for college student. However, elementary or high school students still need to learn the basic of every subjects that might not be their interest. For instance, high school students that love to cook still need to know some simple arithmetic calculation because a chef will have to calculate the ratio of the ingredients when s/he has to make a big batch of cookie dough.

To sum up, a nation should educate its young generation with the same curriculum. However, it is advisable to teach students with only the basic of every subject. A school should let the student to choose whether s/he wants to study the subjects in more depth. The point of this is to avoid unnecessary stress that could be created among the student. For example, someone with interest in English literature will find learning advance history as something that is tedious and stressful.