On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The main idea of the claim is to limit the number of rented moped on Balmer island in order to decrease the accident that involves pedestrian and moped. This proposal is supported by the example of the neighboring island of Seaville that successfully decrease the moped accidents by limiting the number of rented moped. The argument, however, is invalid and lack of details to convince the reader.

First of all, the author did not clearly specify the common type of accidents that involve pedestrian and moped driver. The accident might be due to the pedestrian fault, not the moped driver. As we all know, some pedestrian ignores the traffic light and still crosses the street even though the pedestrian light has stop light turned on. If this was the case, the city should educate their pedestrian instead of limiting the number of moped.

Additionally, the author does not give a detail description of Balmer island’s road structure. There is a possibility that pedestrian has to share the road with moped driver. Such policy will create a hazardous driving condition and thus causing more accidents. To solve this issue, the city should improve their traffic policy and not limiting the number of rented moped.

Finally, the Seaville’s town case could not be a perfect example. It might be true that Seaville’s moped accident decreased by limiting the rented moped. However, that might not be the perfect solution. By referring to the second and third paragraph of my essay, the cause of moped incident might be due to the disobedient pedestrian or other cause.

While it is true that the city has to secure every road user, they should use reasonable and justified reasoning to execute any new policy. The city should not apply an unclear policy that still need more research on, or else the existing problem would not be solved.