Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Government has a responsibility to manage a nation so the civilians can live prosperously. Some common issues that a government has to deal with, but not included to: economic, security, and transportation. In my opinion, government should focus both on solving immediate problems and the anticipated problems as well because the solution to current issue can cause another issue in the future.

For instance, let's take a look on a national problem that Indonesia has currently and how the government solve it. In Indonesia, poverty is a major issue that still has not been solved yet. One of the approach that the government used before was to give a subsidized fuel to the civilians. The purpose of this policy was to ease the economic burden of the low-income families since they have to pay less for transportation. Unfortunately, the subsidized fuel was discontinued after the new president was inaugurated. The first reason behind this discontinuation was because the subsidized fuel was enjoyed mostly by high-income citizen that owns personal transport, which totally contradict the expected purpose. Second, the cash that was used to subsidized the fuel can be used to build the nation itself, such as building port, dam, or maybe an airport. Port and airport are really important in Indonesia because Indonesia is an archipelago island, which means the only way to get between the island is through water or air. A better transportation can improve the economic development, thus increases the job opportunity and reduce the poverty. The solution of the new government is way better than the older one because the new solution will give a permanent effect (more job opportunities) rather than a temporary one (reduced fuel price).

In conclusion, problems on a nation is always related to one another. The future and the past. The government should never focus on the current problem and give the solution without thinking the side-effect of the solution itself.